Terms and Conditions

Terms and Conditions

The Surrey in the Great War: a county remembers project gives you the opportunity to add your photographs and stories to our website to create an online, community-sourced archive of Surrey’s First World War history. All personal data comes under the protection and controls of the Data Protection Act 1998.

Before you can submit digital material to Surrey in the Great War, you must agree to our Terms and Conditions for User Contributions. If you have any further questions about the following terms and conditions, please contact a member of the project team. More details about the Creative Commons Licence can be found online at www.creativecommons.org. By submitting content to the Surrey in the Great War project, you agree to the following terms:

Copyright information

By participating in the project you warrant that you own the rights (including copyright, or permission from the rights owner, if there is one) to publish any material that you submit. You undertake not to violate the rights of any third party, impersonate another person, or share the personal information of living people without their permission. You may publish names and dates of birth of living people where this data comes from a legally permitted, publicly available source. If you are unsure about the source of data, please contact us for advice before publishing on the website.

You grant to us a non-exclusive licence in all copyright and rights in the nature of copyright subsisting in the material submitted to us on the website. We may –

(a) reproduce the photographs and/or stories and /or any material submitted to us on the website; and

(b) allow the photographs and/or stories and /or any material submitted to us on the website to be used by any other person so long as such use is non-commercial; and

(c) reproduce the photographs and/or stories and /or any material in any advertising or promotional material relating to the Surrey in the Great War project, including reproducing the same for exhibitions.

How we use your content

You keep the copyright in any content that you create or publish on the website. All content submitted will fall under an Attribution Non-Commercial Creative Commons Licence (CC BY-NC 3.0). This allows us (Surrey Heritage) and its users (any third party) to copy and redistribute the material in any medium or format, and also allows to them remix, transform, and build upon the material. This licence requires us or any third party user to give appropriate credit to content, provide a link to the licence, and indicate if changes were made. If we or any third party user does make alterations to the content, they have to allow others to use the altered content under the same conditions.  Please be aware that you are allowing everybody to use any descriptive data you submit (such as descriptions or tags) in almost any way they like, without further conditions.

Content you create is available on the internet

Surrey in the Great War is pleased to offer a service whereby users can store their memories, photographs and other information; however please keep a copy of your information elsewhere.

Surrey Heritage shall not be liable for any loss of information (including photographs) under any circumstances; including, for example, should it be necessary to close the website. We therefore strongly suggest that you back-up your information elsewhere.

Privacy

Our registration process requires you to supply us with your email details, but we will only use this information for service administration purposes. However, we may also wish to contact a small number of contributors to ask them to participate in any publicity or other activity associated with the website.  Only authorised administrators can see user profiles but cannot see your password or other personal information and we will never pass on your personal details to any other third party.

Surrey County Council complies with the 1998 Data Protection Act.

Deleting Your Account

In the event that you delete your account by logging in and going to the Manage My Account section of the website, your profile and any images and content you have uploaded will disappear from public view. However, this information will be stored privately by us until the end of the project. Should you wish us to completely remove all content and data stored about you, please contact us.